Diploma in Computer Science and Information Technology (Level 7)

Duration: 36 Weeks (1 Academic Year)

This programme is:

Designed to prepare graduates for employment opportunities in specialised computer areas where a high level of knowledge and skills are required. Alternatively, the programme provides a staircase to higher level tertiary education studies.


On successful completion of this programme, Graduates will have an extensive range of knowledge and skills across key elements of computing with skills to apply knowledge in the optional strand they select. This will equip them to enter immediately into a productive role within an organisation or progress into further study in specialist areas.

The programme meets the following objectives:

  • Provides in-depth train ing in the research, design, installation, commissioning and testing of computer systems and stand-alone systems.
  • Develops students’ self directed learning abilities.
  • Produces Graduates able to apply knowledge in their selected elective area of Computer Operations, Support and Computer Networks.


Entry Requirements:

Applicants are able to hold a diploma Level 5 qualification in computing OR demonstrate or provide evidence of equivalent knowledge and skills. Students may also be able to undertake a pre-entry test or interview or both to determine their suitability for the programme.

English Language Entry Requirements for international students where English is not their first language, students must have IELTS 6.0 with no band less than 5.5; or an equivalent as approved and set out in the NZQA Programme Approval and Accreditation Rules.

Visa opportunity:

Students are eligible to work part time 20 hours weekly. After graduating, the students may be eligible to apply for Post Study Work Visa which allows for full time employment for up to 12 months.

Course Features

  • Modules 1
  • Duration 36 Weeks
  • Skill level 7
  • Credits 120
  • DC14 - Multi-user Systems

  • DCPM21 - Project Management

  • DCCN44 - Database Design and Administration

  • DCCN43 - Network Security

  • DCCN41 - LAN Administration

  • DCCN42 - WAN Administration